waiyinwhitney

Nomming with Whitney – Five Guys Burgers and Fries

Leave a comment

The  burger trend has been going on for a long time but I never usually get the chance to try these burger joints out. Probably because they’re not really place to sit down and chat with friends, and it’s not something a lot of my friends are that interested in. Most of my friends, like me, love Japanese food…hence all the Japanese restaurants I go to. Out of all the trending burger joints, I’ve only visited Shake Shack in New York, until now that is.

Near my workplace in Mississauga is a Five Guys Burger and Fries.  And a couple weeks ago, I finally convinced my co-workers to go with me for lunch : 3  After much researching online (Urbanspoon and Foursquare weren’t very useful because the ratings were all over the place), I decided on the Little Cheeseburger.  I added on quite a lot of toppings though, cause it’s free!! That’s one thing I like about Five Guys is you can order something basic and add on as much as you want – for a cheap price. I even went out of my normal comfort zone and added jalapeño peppers, which added a nice spicy kick to it.  Quality and taste wise, the burger I had at Shake Shack was much better from everything like the bun to the patty. But I guess Five Guys is more of a fast food joint than ‘gourmet burger’.

5guysburger

With my co-workers, we shared a bag full of Cajun Fries.  It’s a really huge serving, a whole paper bag full! However, taste and texture wise the fries weren’t that spectacular. I’ve definitely had better fries, but the Cajun powder does make it a bit better since it adds flavour.

fiveguys2

I wouldn’t mind returning to Five Guys for lunch when at work, but if in Toronto I would definitely rather try out some other burger restaurants. The ones on top of my list are  Burger Priest (of course) and Holy Chuck. From seeing pictures and descriptions from other bloggers, I think Holy Chuck seems to be the best.



Five Guys Burgers & Fries on Urbanspoon

Author: waiyinwhitney

Blogger from Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers